30 Days of Character Development: Day 28

The Prompt: If your character’s life was a genre, what would it be?

Action Adventure. Could it possibly be anything else?

Caught up in a world of war, one elf dares to stand up for what’s right. She is… THE BLOOD ELF.
>”I’m sorry, ‘Ambassador,’ but I don’t find your policies… sanguine.”

>“I’m no bleeding-heart activist, but even I know this is wrong.”
>”Watch it. You’re making me see… red.”

Oh, better yet…
All she wanted was a nice, successful career as a ranger in Quel’thalas. But when the drums of war call her to duty, she must respond. She is… Ranger Captain Toriah!
>
“I might ‘just’ be a ranger, but don’t expect me to… bow.”
> “
I’m not angry; just a little arch-ery.”

Okay, so I’m not very good with thinking of stereotypical “action movie” lines and taglines  on the spot for my character. But you get the idea. She’s an adventurer. Her life thrives on the constant stream of threats that beleaguer Azeroth and her people. Explosions, excitement, and danger practically follow her like a fan club.

That said, isn’t it a little strange to try and define your character’s life as a genre? Isn’t that limiting and, therefore, self-defeating of trying to create complex, well-rounded characters? Do we try and define, work, and re-work within the genre?

About Toriah the Mom

Mom, quasi-librarian, gamer, writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

